Don’t delay. Contact us today.
Whether you are facing DUI charges or someone you know is, the biggest influence on the outcome of your case will be the DUI lawyers by your side.
Continue reading to learn more about the penalties for DUI charges in Washington State as well as where to find a professional legal team to work with during this time.
The Dangers of Drunk Driving
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), over 10,000 people were killed in drunk driving related car accidents in 2019. That’s roughly one death every 52-minutes or 28 deaths per day.
Consuming alcohol while driving results in visual impairment, loss of judgment, reduced coordination, and reduced ability to track moving objects — all skills that are essential for safe driving.
According to NHTSA, with a BAC of only 0.02, drivers may already be unsafe behind the wheel, displaying judgment loss and an altered mood. As is evident from the data, driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, no matter the amount, is extremely dangerous.
Why You Need a DUI Lawyer
Mandatory penalties include jail time, fines, and a loss of driving privileges (all broken down further below). These penalties increase dramatically if the convicted driver has had prior DUIs, as they demonstrate a disregard for the health and safety of others.
Besides significantly impacting finances and causing lots of lost time, DUIs may appear on criminal records or employment background checks. This is why it’s so important for drivers to partner with a trusted DUI defense attorney to ensure a DUI’s impact is as minimal as possible.
First Time DUI Penalties In Washington
- Jail time. Depending on the driver’s BAC and whether the DUI was classified as a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor, jail time ranges from 24-hours to 364 days.
- Fines. Financial penalties for DUIs can range from around $800 to $5,000 depending on the driver’s blood alcohol content.
- License suspension. Ranging from 90 days up to two years depending on the driver’s BAC or compliance with a requested breathalyzer test.
Second Time DUI Penalties In Washington
- Jail time. For second-time offenders, jail time ranges from 30 days up to 364 days.
- Fines. Fines for second-offense DUIs range from $1,015 to $5,000 depending on the driver’s blood alcohol content and compliance with a requested breathalyzer test.
- License suspension. Driving privileges will be lost for between two and three years for drivers convicted of a prior DUI.
- IID. If this is a driver’s second DUI, they may be required to use an ignition interlock device for up to five years at the driver’s personal expense.
Additional requirements may be attending traffic safety school or alcohol rehabilitation counseling at the driver’s personal expense.
Contact a Team of Seasoned DUI Attorneys Today
Washington Legal Services employs a team of trusted DUI attorneys who are passionate about traffic law and have experience working with a vast array of DUI cases.
To schedule an appointment with one of our DUI attorneys, get in touch with Washington Legal Services today.